The Golden Sisters

The Golden Sisters

Alrene Hughes / Apr 01, 2020
The Golden Sisters Martha s girls return in a poignant wartime story of love lost and found A moving saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close knit fiery loving family perfect for fans of Maureen Lee Ma
  • Title: The Golden Sisters
  • Author: Alrene Hughes
  • ISBN: 9780856409394
  • Page: 175
  • Format: Paperback
  • Martha s girls return in a poignant wartime story of love lost and found A moving saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close knit, fiery, loving family perfect for fans of Maureen Lee, Mary Larkin and Pam Weaver.It s 1941 and German bombs are falling on Belfast Martha s girls face danger, hardship and difficult decisions.Irene, the eldest of the sisters,Martha s girls return in a poignant wartime story of love lost and found A moving saga that takes the reader to the very heart of a close knit, fiery, loving family perfect for fans of Maureen Lee, Mary Larkin and Pam Weaver.It s 1941 and German bombs are falling on Belfast Martha s girls face danger, hardship and difficult decisions.Irene, the eldest of the sisters, is struggling with the constraints of married life, until a chance meeting forces her to choose between romance and reality.Pat, intelligent and sensitive, is working in Stormont alongside William Kennedy As their relationship deepens, she feels that real happiness could be within her grasp.Peggy, impulsive and glamorous, is thrilled when the charismatic Devlin offers her a job with the dance band at the Plaza Ballroom But she soon sees his darker sideSheila, the youngest, is blossoming into a young woman, though her family seem intent on treating her like a child When will they accept her for the grown up she is Together, they are the Golden Sisters, singing their way to victory in concert halls and army camps But the war is taking their lives in unexpected directions and Martha will need all her strength to help her girls find their way through these turbulent times.
    • BEST EPUB "✓ The Golden Sisters" || READ (AZW) ✓
      175 Alrene Hughes
    • thumbnail Title: BEST EPUB "✓ The Golden Sisters" || READ (AZW) ✓
      Posted by:Alrene Hughes
      Published :2020-01-04T06:55:52+00:00

    About "Alrene Hughes"

      • Alrene Hughes

        Alrene Hughes Is a well-known author, some of his books are a fascination for readers like in the The Golden Sisters book, this is one of the most wanted Alrene Hughes author readers around the world.

    271 Comments

    1. Another fantastic readAfter the marriage of Irene and Sandy Irene carried on living with mother Martha as the war continued and Sandy returned to the air force The girls are upset as all concerts have to be cancelled for the military Irene suffers losing her dear friend myrtle and at the factory is asked to look after an American called Macy Times are getting bad as the year s go on during war times that Martha is forced to send Sheila away as an evacuees to dungannon This is the second book in [...]


    2. This is the second novel I ve read by Alrene Hughes I enjoyed immensely the first book in this series, Martha s Girls, when it was released a couple years ago so I eagerly awaited the sequel and was delighted when I received a request to review it The Golden Sisters takes up the story of the Goulding sisters where the first book left off early in the Second World War Like Martha s Girls, this is a heartwarming and entertaining story of the four sisters and their lives, loves and losses The famil [...]


    3. Pleasant read, along with Martha s GirlsI would recommend this book and its prequel to anyone who is looking for a good story of a family of females in wartime Belfastwith satisfying endings, in spite of the inevitable trials of that time A pleasant read.


    4. I won this book in a first reads book giveaway, but when I discovered it was the second book of a series, I purchased the Kindle version of the first book Martha s Girls, to read before beginning this one.I enjoyed the first book , as I found it interesting and engaging.The author does a good job of developing the characters and making them real for the readers.The family is believable, but I never did come to like the sister Peggy I also came to dislike Irene as well, because of her cold , unc [...]


    5. This follows on from Martha s Girls, so we see how Martha and her girls cope with what life throws at them during WW2 Sheila gets evacuated and because of a mix up Martha doesn t hear from her so goes looking for Sheila On finding her Martha ends up staying too Irene manages to get a place at the base Sandy is posted to, and so Pat and Peggy are left home alone After Pat suffers a tragedy she can t sing will this be the end of the Golden Sisters I really enjoyed reading about the ups and downs a [...]


    6. A story of the trials and dangers in the early days of world war twok the stresso.In the early days of the war amidst of the bombings in Belfast a family got caught up in the attempt to distract the citizens from stress Three young women sang with a troop of performers and as time went on they also entertained US troops preparing to join the fighting This story of danger and love dominated their lives.


    7. Martha s GirlsA great story Heart warming a great family So down to earth It was so great of a story I could not put it down.


    8. Golden SistersThis is the second and last book in a series that walks you along side of the Goulding family during WWII The author has made each character one you can relate to The struggles, sparrows, fears and joy that each family member goes through is captured in this book You are able to see up close, what the war cost to families, businesses and cities I am a fan of this era because of the strength you see in all who lived through this period of history Great job Alrene Hughes


    Leave a Reply